How can it be my city?

Is it really my city?

Once I grew up, loving this city, immersing myself within it, thinking this is MY space.. a space for US citizens, for US students .. a space which I always knew to be our comfort zone (or maybe I should say ‘was’ our comfort zone).

The nooks and corners of the city has grown dark, the alleys quieter. It doesn’t anymore give that sense of security  that it once used to…
Kolkata.. what have they turned you into!

I can barely contain my angst, my disgust against those inhumans who molested that student within the university campus.. it is almost incredible that the university vice chancellor invited the police to lathi charge on the young mass of protesters in the dead of the night… I can hardly suppress my helplessness that I cannot be a part of the ongoing protests.. 

This is not my city.This can hardly be the city I grew up in…

Do they really think they can get away with it? Do they really believe that the students can’t unite and assert their demands? It’s high time they should reconsider this “small incident “. It only needs a minute spark to start a wildfire….

Leave a Reply

